Pad & Pace

Best walking pads with a handle or handrail

One of the eight pads we track has anything to hold. That is not a gap in our research - it is what the format is, and the machine that breaks the rule pays for it in three places.

By Stephen V. · Last updated

A pair of worn walking shoes on a hardwood floor beside a doorway

One walking pad we track has a handle: the UREVO Strol 2E, whose published 38.9 in in-use height is the handle post rather than the deck. The handle costs it the longest folded length on this site at 51.2 in. If you want something to hold while standing, the Stamina SpaceMate has handlebars and folds to 9.5 in. If the reason you want a handle is balance, a seated machine removes the question entirely.

How this page is funded: the buy links here are Amazon affiliate links, and we earn a commission if you buy through one — at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we rank first, because the commission rate is the same across every machine on this page. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on whether there is something to hold while the machine is moving, and then on what holding it costs you - folded length, unit weight, and whether the maker still publishes the figures that let you check the machine against your room. Price and top speed are deliberately not part of this ordering. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not walked on any of these — here is exactly what we did instead.

#ModelBest forKey figurePrice
1
UREVO Strol 2E

UREVO Strol 2E

The lightest machine here that still has a safety handle, and the only one that goes fast enough to jog on.

The only walking pad with a handle38.9 in handle post
$259.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper

Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper

The only stepper here with handlebars and the only one that folds — 9.5 inches tall folded, which is the whole argument for buying a stepper you cannot leave out.

Handlebars to hold, and it folds away9.5 in folded
$149.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Stamina InMotion E1000

Stamina InMotion E1000

The only seated machine here whose maker publishes dimensions, unit weight and a user weight limit together — and the tallest of the three, at 11.38 inches.

Removes the need to hold anything250 lb stated
$174.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Cubii Move

Cubii Move

The lowest seated machine we have found a published height for, at 9.5 inches — which is the whole argument when your desk apron is the constraint.

Lowest and lightest way to sit down instead9.5 in tall, 17.5 lb
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

How we picked these

Ranked on whether there is something to hold while the machine is moving, and then on what holding it costs you - folded length, unit weight, and whether the maker still publishes the figures that let you check the machine against your room. Price and top speed are deliberately not part of this ordering.

We have not walked on these machines. We do not own them and we have no test lab. What we did was open each manufacturer’s own specification page, record every published figure with the date we read it, write “not published” where a figure does not exist rather than estimating one, and do the arithmetic ourselves — folded size against a real storage gap, deck length against stride, unit weight against a flight of stairs. The full method, in detail.

A handle does three different jobs

“Walking pad with a handle” is one search term covering three different requirements, and they do not have the same answer. Before the picks are any use it is worth knowing which one you are.

  • Something to reach for if you misstep. You are steady on your feet but you do not love the idea of a moving belt with nothing above it. This is the most common version and it is the one the Strol 2E answers.
  • Something to hold onto continuously. Balance is an active concern rather than a preference. A walking pad is the wrong format for this, handle or not, and we would rather say so on the page that ranks them than sell you the one exception.
  • Something to brace against while working harder. You want the handle because you intend to push the pace, not because you are unsteady. That is a different machine again, and it is a stepper.

The fourth thing people mean by “handle” is a grab point for carrying the machine, which has nothing to do with using it. That word collision causes real confusion in this category and we have given it its own section below.

The one pad that has one, and what it costs

We track 8 walking pads. 1 of them publishes a handle.It is the UREVO Strol 2E, and you can find the handle in UREVO’s own specification table without being told it is there: the in-use height reads 38.9 inches. Nothing that is only a deck is 38.9 inches tall. That figure is the top of a post standing up in front of you.

Now the part the listings do not lead with. The handle is not free, and it is paid for in three separate places on the spec sheet.

One: the folded length is the longest on this site. UREVO publishes 48 inches long in use and 51.2 inches long folded. A machine that gets longer when you fold it looks like a typo until you understand the mechanism: the handle folds back flat over the deck, so the folded footprint is the deck plus the handle lying on top of it. Every KingSmith pad here folds in half instead, to between 31.8 and 32.5 inches. That is the difference between a machine that stands up in a narrow closet and one that only ever slides under a bed. Folded sizes against real apartment storage.

Two: the desk arithmetic cannot be run. Every other pad here publishes a deck-to-floor height, which is the number our standing-desk page subtracts from a desk’s maximum height to tell you whether it clears you. UREVO publishes no deck-to-floor figure for the Strol 2E, and 38.9 inches is the handle rather than the belt, so feeding it into that sum produces a number that means nothing. The Strol 2E is excluded from every deck-height calculation on this site for that reason, and the reason is the handle.

Three: the belt is short.At 40.2 x 15 inches the Strol 2E’s walking surface is over seven inches shorter than the KingSmith decks and the narrowest full-size belt we list. It also goes to 6.2 mph, the fastest machine here — a short belt and a running speed is a combination worth thinking about before you use both at once. Deck length against stride, in detail.

What you get back is real too, and it is not only the handle: 47.2 lb makes it the lightest walking pad we track, 265 lb is the highest published capacity of any pad with a full spec sheet here, and 4.6 inches is the lowest folded height on this site.

Why the rest of the category has nothing

This is worth understanding, because it stops the absence looking like cost-cutting. A walking pad is a treadmill with the frame taken off. The handrail on a treadmill is attached to that frame. Take the frame away and there is nothing for a handrail to be bolted to — and taking the frame away is the entire product. It is what gets the machine down to four or five inches tall, what lets it fold in half, and what lets it live under a sofa.

So a handrail is not a feature the category forgot. It is in direct conflict with the thing the category exists to do. The Strol 2E resolves the conflict by folding the handle down over the deck and pays for it in folded length. Nobody else resolves it at all: seven of the eight pads we track are flat rectangles with nothing above them, and our spec notes for the WalkingPad Z1 say exactly that — no handrail, so nothing to grab if you misstep.

The same absence runs through the standing machines that are not pads. Of the three mini steppers we track, two publish no handrail at all, and on the Xiser — the most expensive machine on this entire site — that absence arrives at a price where you might reasonably have expected one.

Carry handle is not the same word

Two different things get called a handle in this category, and the distinction matters more than it sounds: one of them is load-bearing while you are moving, and the other is load-bearing while the machine is switched off.

Cubii’s own model comparison, read on 2026-09-17, is the clearest illustration we found. It carries a Portabilityrow, and for the three ellipticals in its current range it reads “Upgraded Handles & Wheels”, “Retractable Handle & Wheels” and — for the Cubii Move — “No Handle”. Every one of those is about carrying the machine to where it lives. None of them is something you hold while you exercise, because on a seated machine you do not need one: you are in your own chair.

So if a listing says “with handle”, check which job it is describing. On a walking pad it is occasionally a handle you hold and usually a grab point for the carry. On a seated machine it is always the carry. The word tells you nothing on its own.

Something to hold, standing up

If the reason you want a handle is that you intend to work harder rather than that you are unsteady, the machine to look at is not a pad at all. The Stamina SpaceMate is the only stepper we track with full-height handlebars, and it is the only one of the three that folds — Stamina publishes 38.5 x 16.25 x 9.5 inches folded, which slides under a bed frame the same way a pad does.

Two honest caveats before you get attached to it. It is 54.5 inches tall in use, so it stands up in the room and will not go under a desk or under anything else; and Stamina’s own specification tab publishes two different assembled sizes for it, which we flag rather than silently picking one. The full stepper ranking sets out what a stepper does and does not replace, and whether one is worth buying at all is its own question.

The other answer: stop needing to hold on

Here is the structural point this page exists to make. A handle you can hold has to be roughly waist height. The underside of a desk is roughly waist height. Those two facts mean a handle and an under-desk machine exclude each other on the same unit, which is why nothing in this category offers both and why searching harder will not turn one up.

The way out of that is not a better handle. It is to remove the balance demand instead of mitigating it: on a seated pedal exerciser or under-desk elliptical you are in your own chair, nothing is moving under your feet, and you stop by taking your feet off. There is no misstep to catch.

Of the seated machines we track, the Stamina InMotion E1000 is the only one whose maker publishes a maximum user weight — 250 lb, beside dimensions, a 24 lb unit weight and a warranty term. The Cubii Move is the lowest and lightest thing here at 9.5 inches and 17.5 lb. Both are ranked properly, on the criteria that suit them, on the elliptical page and the older-buyer page. What you give up is most of the exercise, and we say so on every page that recommends one.

The four machines side by side

Read the in-use height column first. The Strol 2E’s 38.9 inches is its handle post; the SpaceMate’s 54.5 inches is its handlebars; the two seated machines are 11.38 and 9.5 inches tall because they have nothing above the pedals at all. That single column is this whole page.

In-use dimensions first - the third figure in that column is what stands up in front of you. 'Not published' is always a figure the maker does not state, never one we could not be bothered to find: UREVO publishes no folded height inversion explanation, and neither seated machine publishes a speed because neither has one.
ModelIn use (L x W x H)Folded (L x W x H)Unit weightMax userTop speed
UREVO Strol 2E48" L x 22.6" W x 38.9" Hmanufacturer spec51.2" L x 22.6" W x 4.6" Hmanufacturer spec47.2 lbmanufacturer spec265 lbmanufacturer spec6.2 mphmanufacturer spec
Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper30.25" L x 16.25" W x 54.5" Hmanufacturer spec38.5" L x 16.25" W x 9.5" Hmanufacturer spec45 lbmanufacturer spec250 lbmanufacturer specNot publishednot published
Stamina InMotion E100024.5" L x 17" W x 11.38" Hmanufacturer specNot publishednot published24 lbmanufacturer spec250 lbmanufacturer specNot publishednot published
Cubii Move21.5" L x 19.5" W x 9.5" Hretail listingNot publishednot published17.5 lbretail listingNot publishednot publishedNot publishednot published

The picks

Ranked on the criterion at the top of the page: is there something to hold while the machine is moving, and what does holding it cost you.

#1
pick

The only walking pad with a handle

UREVO Strol 2E

The lightest machine here that still has a safety handle, and the only one that goes fast enough to jog on.

UREVO Strol 2E
$259.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

It is first because it is the only machine in the category that answers the question as asked. UREVO publishes a 38.9 inch in-use height, which is the handle post rather than the deck, and it is the only pad on this site where that figure describes anything other than a flat rectangle. It is also the lightest pad we track at 47.2 lb, publishes the highest capacity of any pad here with a full spec sheet at 265 lb, and folds to the lowest height on the site at 4.6 inches. The handle is paid for three times: 51.2 inches of folded length because the handle folds back over the deck, no published deck-to-floor height so the desk-clearance sum cannot be run, and a 40.2 inch belt that is over seven inches shorter than the KingSmith decks. Buy it if the handle is the requirement and a closet is not.

What the specs give you

  • 47.2 lb — the lightest walking pad we list, and the easiest to move alone
  • 265 lb capacity, the highest of the pads with published capacity here
  • Folds flat to 4.6 inches, the lowest folded height on this site
  • Goes to 6.2 mph, so it is a running treadmill as well as a walking pad

What they cost you

  • Belt is 40.2 inches long — over 7 inches shorter than the KingSmith pads, which is short for a long stride
  • Folded length is 51.2 inches, so it slides under a bed but will not stand in a narrow closet
  • UREVO publishes no decibel figure on its own product page
Published specifications for the UREVO Strol 2E
Footprint in use48" L x 22.6" W x 38.9" Hmanufacturer spec
Folded51.2" L x 22.6" W x 4.6" Hmanufacturer spec
Walking belt40.2" L x 15" Wmanufacturer spec
Unit weight47.2 lbmanufacturer spec
Max user weight265 lbmanufacturer spec
Top speed6.2 mphmanufacturer spec
InclineNot publishednot published
Published noiseNot publishednot published

All figures read from urevo.com product spec table on 2026-07-24. Where it says “not published”, we checked and no figure exists — we did not estimate one.

Read the full UREVO Strol 2E spec breakdown

#2
pick

Handlebars to hold, and it folds away

Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper

The only stepper here with handlebars and the only one that folds — 9.5 inches tall folded, which is the whole argument for buying a stepper you cannot leave out.

Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper
$149.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Second, and for a different buyer rather than a worse one: someone steady enough to stand on a machine who wants the higher effort a stepper gives, in almost no floor space. It is the only stepper we track with full-height handlebars and the only one of the three that folds, to a published 38.5 x 16.25 x 9.5 inches. Stamina publishes assembled size, folded size, unit weight and a 250 lb capacity together, which almost nobody in this category does. Against it: 54.5 inches tall in use, so it lives in the room rather than under a desk; 45 lb, heavier than several full walking pads; assembly required, unlike the other two steppers; and Stamina's own specification tab prints two contradictory assembled sizes, which we flag rather than choose between.

What the specs give you

  • Folds to 38.5 x 16.25 x 9.5 in, so it slides under a bed like a walking pad rather than living in a corner
  • Full-height handlebars — the only machine in this category here that gives you something to hold
  • 250 lb capacity published by the maker
  • Stamina publishes assembled size, folded size, product weight and capacity together, which almost nobody in this category does

What they cost you

  • Stamina's own specification tab prints TWO different assembled sizes — 45.25 x 28 x 52 in and 30.25 x 16.25 x 54.5 in. We use the second, which matches the metric conversions given in the features text, and we are flagging the discrepancy rather than hiding it
  • 45 lb, which is heavier than several full walking pads here despite being a much smaller machine
  • 54.5 inches tall in use — this is not a mini stepper, and it will not go under a desk
  • Resistance is described as 'adjustable' with no level count published
  • Assembly required, unlike every other stepper here
Published specifications for the Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper
Footprint in use30.25" L x 16.25" W x 54.5" Hmanufacturer spec
Folded38.5" L x 16.25" W x 9.5" Hmanufacturer spec
Unit weight45 lbmanufacturer spec
Max user weight250 lbmanufacturer spec
Resistance levelsNot publishednot published
MaterialHeavy duty steel framemanufacturer spec
Published noiseNot publishednot published

All figures read from staminaproducts.com specification tab on 2026-08-12. Where it says “not published”, we checked and no figure exists — we did not estimate one.

Read the full Stamina SpaceMate Folding Stepper spec breakdown

#3
pick

Removes the need to hold anything

Stamina InMotion E1000

The only seated machine here whose maker publishes dimensions, unit weight and a user weight limit together — and the tallest of the three, at 11.38 inches.

Stamina InMotion E1000
$174.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Third because it answers the underlying problem rather than the search term. A handle exists so you have something to catch yourself on; sitting down means there is nothing to catch. Of the six seated machines we track, this is the only one whose maker publishes a maximum user weight, and 250 lb arrives alongside dimensions, a 24 lb unit weight and a warranty term, which is the most complete published spec set in the seated category. Stamina also states the frame is rated for standing as well as seated use. Against it: at 11.38 inches it is the tallest of the seated machines and the one most likely to foul a low desk apron, and no stride length or resistance count is published.

What the specs give you

  • Stamina publishes dimensions, product weight and capacity on its own page — the only elliptical here where all three come from the manufacturer
  • 250 lb user capacity, 100 lb higher than the Cubii JR1's published limit
  • 24 lb, light enough to move between rooms one-handed
  • Pedals reverse, and the frame is rated for standing as well as seated use

What they cost you

  • 11.38 inches tall — the tallest of the three ellipticals here, and the one most likely to foul a low desk apron
  • Stamina publishes no resistance-level count, only 'adjustable tension'
  • No stride length published, so you cannot check the knee travel before buying
  • No decibel figure published
Published specifications for the Stamina InMotion E1000
Footprint in use24.5" L x 17" W x 11.38" Hmanufacturer spec
FoldedNot publishednot published
Walking beltNot publishednot published
Unit weight24 lbmanufacturer spec
Max user weight250 lbmanufacturer spec
Top speedNot publishednot published
InclineNot publishednot published
Published noiseNot publishednot published
Pedal heightNot publishednot published
Resistance levelsNot publishednot published

All figures read from staminaproducts.com product page on 2026-08-11. Where it says “not published”, we checked and no figure exists — we did not estimate one.

Read the full Stamina InMotion E1000 spec breakdown

#4
pick

Lowest and lightest way to sit down instead

Cubii Move

The lowest seated machine we have found a published height for, at 9.5 inches — which is the whole argument when your desk apron is the constraint.

Cubii Move
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 24, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Fourth, and the one to pick when the constraint is the desk rather than the person. At a published 9.5 inches it is the lowest seated machine we have found a height for, and at 17.5 lb the lightest machine of any kind on this site - light enough to move between rooms one-handed, or to carry into an office. Note the naming trap this page is about: Cubii's own comparison page lists the Move's portability as 'No Handle', which is a carry handle rather than anything you hold while pedaling. Against it: Cubii publishes no maximum user weight for any model in its range, its own page publishes no dimensions, and the figures we use come from a retailer rather than the maker.

What the specs give you

  • 9.5 inches tall, half an inch lower than the Cubii JR1 and nearly two inches lower than the Stamina
  • 17.5 lb — the lightest machine of any kind on this site
  • 6 magnetic resistance levels
  • Ships assembled, needs no outlet and nothing to store

What they cost you

  • No user weight limit published on Cubii's own page or the retail listing we read — a real gap on a machine you put your body weight through
  • Cubii's own product page publishes no dimensions, weight or capacity at all; the figures here come from a retailer
  • No stride length published
  • No decibel figure published
Published specifications for the Cubii Move
Footprint in use21.5" L x 19.5" W x 9.5" Hretail listing
FoldedNot publishednot published
Walking beltNot publishednot published
Unit weight17.5 lbretail listing
Max user weightNot publishednot published
Top speedNot publishednot published
InclineNot publishednot published
Published noiseNot publishednot published
Pedal heightNot publishednot published
Resistance levels6retail listing

All figures read from Rehabmart retail listing spec table on 2026-08-11. Where it says “not published”, we checked and no figure exists — we did not estimate one.

Read the full Cubii Move spec breakdown

Skip this one

Bolt-on handlebar kits, and any listing that shows a hand on a rail

We do not rank aftermarket handlebar kits, and the reason is specific rather than squeamish. A handrail is a structural part that takes your weight in exactly the moment you needed it to. Not one of the kits we found publishes a load rating, a test result, or a list of the decks it was engineered to mount on — and the machines they clamp to publish no mounting point, because their makers never designed one. There is nothing in that set of facts we could responsibly turn into a recommendation.

And treat a listing photograph as marketing rather than specification. Several pads in this category are photographed with a model resting a hand on a desk edge, a console mast or a wall. If the handle is real it is in the specification table, and it shows up as an in-use height too tall to be a deck. If the table says four to seven inches, there is nothing above the belt no matter what the photograph implies.

What we have not done

We have not held a handle, leaned on one or tested one. We do not own these machines. Everything above is read from each maker’s own published specification with the date we read it, plus arithmetic on those figures. Our full method.

We have not ranked anything here on how strong a handle is, because no maker in this category publishes a load rating for one. UREVO does not state what the Strol 2E’s handle is rated to take, and Stamina does not state it for the SpaceMate’s handlebars. We can tell you a handle exists and what it costs the rest of the spec sheet. We cannot tell you what it will hold.

None of this is medical advice and we are not qualified to give any. If the reason you are reading a page about handrails is a balance condition, a recent fall or a recovery, that is a conversation for a clinician rather than a specification table.

Questions people actually ask

Is there a walking pad with a handle?

Yes, one: the UREVO Strol 2E. Of the eight walking pads we track it is the only machine whose maker publishes a handle at all, and the giveaway is in UREVO's own spec table - it states an in-use height of 38.9 inches, which is not a deck height but the top of the handle post standing up in front of you. Every other pad on this site is a flat rectangle four to seven inches off the floor with nothing above it.

Do walking pads have handrails?

Almost none of them do, and that is the defining feature of the format rather than an oversight. A walking pad is a treadmill with the frame removed, and the frame is what the handrail was attached to. Removing it is what lets the machine fold flat, slide under a bed and disappear under a desk. So a handrail and the thing that makes a walking pad a walking pad are in direct tension, and only one machine we track resolves it in favor of the handle.

What does the handle cost you on a walking pad?

Three things on the one machine that has one. First, folded length: the Strol 2E folds to 51.2 inches long because the handle folds back flat over the deck, which is 3.2 inches longer than the machine is in use and the longest folded length of any pad on this site. Second, desk arithmetic: UREVO publishes no deck-to-floor height, so the clearance sum we can run for every other pad cannot be run for this one. Third, belt length: at 40.2 inches its walking surface is over seven inches shorter than the KingSmith decks.

Is a walking pad with a handle safer?

We are not in a position to tell you a machine is safe, and we will not. What is checkable is narrower and still useful: a handle gives you something to reach for if you misstep, and seven of the eight pads we track give you nothing. Whether that matters depends on you rather than on the specification - if you are steady on your feet, most owners of handle-less pads never reach for anything. If you have had a fall, the honest answer is that a moving belt with nothing above it is the wrong format, and a seated machine removes the question rather than mitigating it.

Can you add a handrail to a walking pad?

Bolt-on handlebar kits are sold for some models and we do not rank any of them, for a reason we would rather state than hide: a handrail is a structural part that takes your weight in the one moment you need it, and none of the kits we found publishes a load rating, a test, or a list of decks it is engineered for. Attaching an unrated part to a machine whose own maker publishes no mounting point is not something we are able to recommend from a specification sheet. If a handle is a requirement, buy the machine that comes with one.

Is a mini stepper with handlebars a good alternative?

It is a genuine alternative for one specific buyer: someone steady enough to stand on a machine, who wants more effort than desk-pace walking gives, and who has almost no floor space. The Stamina SpaceMate is the only stepper we track with full-height handlebars and the only one that folds - to a published 9.5 inches, which slides under a bed like a pad. What it is not is an under-desk machine: Stamina publishes an in-use height of 54.5 inches, so it stands up in the room rather than disappearing under anything.

What if I want something to hold and something that goes under a desk?

Then the answer is not a walking pad, and the reason is geometry rather than product choice. A handle tall enough to hold is taller than the underside of a desk, so the two requirements exclude each other on the same machine. The way out is to stop needing to hold anything: a seated pedal exerciser or under-desk elliptical puts you in your own chair, which is the most stable thing in the room. The Stamina InMotion E1000 is the one seated machine here whose maker publishes a maximum user weight.

Sources